Tamayouz Excellence Award


The longlist comprises the top 50 submissions received this year for the award’s fourth cycle. Tamayouz Excellence Award is proud to announce the longlist of finalists for its International Graduation Projects Award 2019. 

Selection for the longlist was made based on the award’s assessment criteria, highlighting projects that are aspirational and transformative, and that tackle local and global challenges through holistic understandings of context.

The award is open to students of architecture, urban design, urban planning, architecture technology and landscape design worldwide, who are invited to submit their graduation projects. The award aims to recgonise excellence in architectural design and education worldwide, and showcase excellent architectural examples to promote and provoke architectural debate.

This year, Tamayouz Excellence Award received 908 submissions across all seven of its awards, representing 151 universities and 64 countries.

The shortlist will be announced at the end of September 2019, and winners will be announced in October following the annual Tamayouz jury meeting at Coventry University, UK.

The award’s judges this year are:

– Ayad Al Tuhafi, owner and director of Ayad Al Tuhafi Architects in England
– Ben Maltby, global shelter and infrastructure lead at Save the Children USA in the UK
– Ben Flippance, design director for IDP Group in the UK
– Felipe Samaran Salo, dean of the Architecture School at the Universidad Francisco de Vitoria in Spain
– Jerome Goyard, senior architect at Fevre Gaucher Architects + Urbanists in France
– Professor Kanan Makiya, The Sylvia K. Hassenfeld professor of Islamic and Middle Eastern studies at Brandeis University in the US
– Prisca Arosio, architect and urbanist at BASTA Urbanism, the Netherlands
– Sebastian Hicks, course director of architecture at Coventry University in England
– Stefanos Adamakis, partner at Adamakis Architects & Associates in Greece

To read about our judges, please visit our jury page.

The longlist of finalists for the 2019 International Graduation Projects Award are:
*All finalists arranged in order by country


  • Franco Crudi and Gonzalo Contreras, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, supervised by Javier Giorgis


  • Sadaf Sumyia Khan, Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology, supervised by Professor S M Najmul Imam, Monon Bin Yusuf
    Sampad Khalifa Sampad, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, supervised by Patrick D Rozario
    Pankaj Nath Joy, Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology, supervised by Patrick D’ Rozario


  • Basel Rafat, MSA University, supervised by Professor Sameh Elfeki
  • Dina Khaled and Rana Khaled, German University in Cairo supervised by Professor Jose P. Madrigal
  • Aya Alaa Hassan Etman, Arab Academy For Science and Technology, supervised by Dr. Yasmin Kandil
  • Ahmed Darwish, Alexandria University, Faculty of Fine Arts, supervised by D. Ahmed El Sayed El-Zayat
  • Ziad Yehia, Seba Hazem, Ghada Sallam and Karim El-Sharbatly, German University in Cairo, supervised by Dr. Wafaa Nadim


  • Jeanteur Paul, Manchester School of Architecture (MSA), supervised by Sally Stone


  • Radhakrishnan T.R, Anna University, supervised by Jeya Radha
  • Priyanka Kar, School of Planning and Architecture Bhopal, supervised by Sanjeev Singh
  • Partha Shrungarpure, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, supervised by Madhulika Bhumkar


  • Ishaq Rocman, Yogyakarta University of Technology, supervised by Desrina Ratriningsih


  • Jacopo Donato, Polytechnic of Turin, supervised by Marco Trisciuoglio
  • Livia Chianese, Sapienza, Rome, supervised by Orazio Carpenzano


  • Ammar Sawan, The Hashemite University, supervised by Ebtesam Khassawneh
  • Mariam Abbadi, Applied Science Private University, supervised by Dr Majda Yakhlef
  • Nour Mansour, German Jordanian University, supervised by Kawthar Rayyan
  • Mohammad Qtaishat, University of Jordan, supervised by Dr Saleem Mokbel Dahabreh
  • Aqel Abueladas, German Jordanian University, supervised by Mohammed Khaled
  • Ahmad Alshurafa, Petra University, supervised by Dr Hadeer Merza
  • Mahmoud Alkurdi, Applied Science Private University, supervised by Ala Gammoh
  • Nour Atieh and Lama Al Qudah, University of Jordan, supervised by Dr Deyala Tarawneh
  • Mohammad Alrabab’ah, University of Jordan, supervised by Dr Saleem Mokbel Dahabreh
  • AbdulRahman AbdulHadi, German Jordanian University, supervised by Janset Shawash
  • Abdullah Natsheh, Petra University, supervised by Dr Hadeer Merza
  • Seba Habashneh, Jordan University of Science and Technology, supervised by Dr Monther Jamhawi
  • Maryam Daoud, Applied Sciences University, supervised by Dr Majda Yakhlef
  • Nadeem Ghattas, American University of Madaba, Dr Yasir Sakr


  • Roman Kim and Aidakeeva Meerim, Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University, supervised by Kariev Beisen


  • Rana Ayoub, Holy Spirit University of Kaslik, supervised by Nagi Ghostine
  • Jamil Al Bardawil, Notre Dame University Louaize, supervised by Charbel Tannous
  • Ruddy Bou Zeid, USEK, supervised by Antoine Younan
  • Joseph El Haddad, Lebanese American University, supervised by David Aouad
  • Mayssa Zeaiter, Lebanese University, supervised by Dr Habib Sadek


  • Riyadh Mundher Sameen Alsammrraie, Universiti Putra Malaysia, supervised by LAr. Dr. Shamsul Abu Bakar
  • Erik Ung Hieng Yek, Taylors University, supervised by Ian Ng Aik Soon


  • Gabriel Gallo Lopez, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, supervised by Alfredo Hidalgo and Rossana Valdivia


  • Victoria Fedorova, Moscow Institute of Architecture, supervised by Smirnova Tatiyana
  • Alsu Sadrieva, Kazan State University of Architecture and Engineering, supervised by Ilnar Akhtiamov and Rezeda Akhtiamova

Saudi Arabia

  • Zahiyah Alraddadi, Effat University, supervised by Dr. Mohammad Fekry
  • Wafaa Abusaif, Dar Al-Hekma University, supervised by Dr. Ibrahim Abdel Hadi


  • Bryant Lau Liang Cheng, National University of Singapore, supervised by Dr. Cho Im Sik


  • Maya Azar, Damascus University – Faculty of Architecture, supervised by Iyas Shahin
  • Talah Alshami and Lujain Halimah, Damascus University, supervised by Professor Jamal Alahmar

The Netherlands

  • Lesia Topolnyk, Amsterdam Academy of Architecture, supervised by Floris Alkemade, Rob Hootsmans, and Peter Veenstra

United Arab Emirates

  • Jumanah Rizk Basil Al-Taher, American University of Sharjah, supervised by Faysal Tabbarah

United Kingdom

  • Mohannad Khalaf, Strathclyde University, supervised by Brian Mcginlay

United States

  • Pete Paueksakon, University of Tennessee Knoxville College of Architecture and Design, supervised by Julie Beckman

Tamayouz Excellence Award is sponsored by Coventry University, the Iraqi Business Council in Jordan, Kufa – Makiya Charity, Dewan Architects + Engineers, Ayad Al-Tuhafi Architects, Bonair Ltd, the United Nations Global Compact – Iraq Network and IDP Coventry.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.