Tamayouz Excellence Award


Tamayouz Excellence Award is proud to announce the shortlist of finalists for its Rifat Chadirji Prize 2019. The shortlist comprises the top 20 submissions received this year for the award’s third cycle, which was held in partnership with the UAE’s Barjeel Art Foundation. 

The Rifat Chadirji Prize, named after the prolific Iraqi architect Dr Rifat Chadirji, is a thematic international prize that seeks designs responding to local challenges. The prize, which is part of Tamayouz’s programme of championing and celebrating architecture in the Near East and North Africa, aims to introduce local challenges to the world and invite architects, designers and planners to submit their concepts. It also aims to establish an uncompromising open source of ideas that tackle social issues through design.


While previous cycles of the award focused on challenges facing Iraq, the 2019 edition targeted the UAE with the theme ‘Barjeel Museum for Modern Arab Art’. To be located in Sharjah, the museum would house the foundation’s extensive art collection, obtained from across the Middle East.

The finalists were selected out of 190 submissions from 44 countries received this year. Selection of the finalists was based on the criteria set in the competition’s brief. Commendable designs are those that contextualise Sharjah’s history and cultural identity in a contemporary manner, and that are informed by local cultural heritage and environmental conditions.

The winning design for the Rifat Chadirji Prize 2019 will be announced in October, following Tamayouz’s annual jury meeting at Coventry University in the UK. The award’s judges this year are:
– Stephen Austin, head of School of Energy, Construction and Environment at Coventry University (the academic partner of Tamayouz)
– Dr Rasem Badran, award-winning architect and founder of Dar Al-Omran
– Dia Azzawi, celebrated Iraqi artist
– Claudia Linders, architect and dean of architecture and urbanism at Fontys Academy
– Fernando Olba, principal of Fernando Olba Arquitectura + Urbanismo
– Mandy Franz, senior associate at MICA Architects
– Nahed Jawad, academic and principal at Nahed Jawad Design
– Philip Michael Wolfson, founder of Wolfson Design

The prizes for the Barjeel Museum for Modern Arab Art in Sharjah are:

– Prize winner: $5000 + The Rifat Chadirji Trophy (Designed by Dia Azzawi) + Certificate + Trip to the 2019 Award Ceremony (Flights & Hotel)
– Second prize (Sponsored by BIMLab – Jordan): $1000 + Certificate + Trip to the 2019 Award Ceremony (Flights & Hotel)
– Third prize: $1000 + Certificate + Trip to the 2019 Award Ceremony (Flights & Hotel)
– PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARD: $500 + Certificate
– 7 x Honourable Mentions: Certificate

To read about our judges, please visit our jury page.

The shortlist of finalists for the Rifat Chadirji Prize 2019 are:

*All finalists arranged in no specific order

  • Civil Architecture: Hamed Bukhamseen, Ali Karimi and Fatima Nickahdar; Arad, Bahrain
  • Islam Alnahrawy, Ingy khalifa and Yihia Qandil; 6th of October, Egypt
  • Omar Ibrahim, Mohamed Abdelaziz, Mahmoud Amgad and Ahmed Zaki; 6th of October, Egypt
  • Mohamed Hassan Elgendy; Cairo, Egypt
  • SOLID: Nader Moro and Sameh Zayed; Cairo, Egypt
  • Cell Studio: Mohamed Sami Saeed, Tarek ali, Mohamed sarhan, Sama Abdelkarim ; Giza, Egypt
  • Mostafa Elghazawy, Mohamed Elsarif and Ahmad Hilal ; Giza, Egypt
  • aaa-studio: Livie Sukma Taristania, Insani Aulia Qisti, Armadhani Zula; Malang, Indonesia
  • Habibeh Madjdabadi Architecture Studio; Tehran, Iran
  • Ali Hussein Khalifa and Hawzhin Mahmud; Sulaimaniyah, Iraq
  • Khaled Almusa and Jawdat Khader; Amman, Jordan
  • Atelier 333*: Elie Abou Jaoude, Bassem Abi Saad and Maurice Homsy ; Beirut, Lebanon
  • AIDIA STUDIO: Rolando Rodriguez Leal, Rolando Rodriguez Leal and Natalia Wrzask; Mexico City, Mexico
  • Ahmed Maged Hassan and Mohamed Alaa; Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Apck Studio; Bern, Switzerland
  • 2×1 Architects: Kutlu İnanç Bal, Hakan Evkaya; Ankara, Turkey
  • COdESIGN: Anna Cornaro and Valerio de Divitiis; Dubai, UAE
  • DMI: Islam El Mashtooly, Drew Gilbert and Ahmad Othman; Dubai, UAE
  • Verform: Mouaz Abouzaid, Dima Faraj, Anas Abouzaid, Hassan Elattar; Dubai, UAE
  • Tay Othman; San Francisco, United States

Tamayouz Excellence Award is sponsored by Coventry University, the Iraqi Business Council in Jordan, Kufa – Makiya Charity, Dewan Architects + Engineers, Ayad Al-Tuhafi Architects, Bonair Ltd, the United Nations Global Compact – Iraq Network, IDP Coventry and BIMLab.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay tuned

Receive All the Tamayouz Updates

Skip to content