Tamayouz Excellence Award


Tamayouz Excellence Award is proud to announce the winners of its International Graduation Projects Award – the world’s largest annual international award for architecture graduation projects. Each year, the award invites students of architecture, urban design, planning and landscape design to submit their graduation projects.

The International Graduation Projects Award is part of Tamayouz Excellence Award’s seven-category awards programme that champions and celebrates architecture from the Near East, North Africa and further afield. The award is open to students of architecture, urban design, urban planning, architecture technology and landscape design, who are invited to submit their graduation projects. The award aims to recognise excellence in architectural design and education worldwide, and showcase excellent architectural examples to promote and provoke architectural debate.

The first place winner is Lesia Topolnyk from Amsterdam Academy of Architecture, supervised by Floris Alkemade, Rob Hootsmans and Peter Veenstra. The second place winner is Jacopo Donato from Polytechnic of Turin, supervised by Marco Trisciuoglio, and the third place winner is Bryant Lau Liang Cheng from the National University of Singapore, supervised by Dr Cho Im Sik. The award also recognises seven honourable mentions and the architecture school of the year.

The winners and honourable mentions were selected out of 908 submissions, representing 151 universities from 64 countries. Selection for the top 10 submissions was made based on the award’s assessment criteria, highlighting projects that are aspirational and transformative, and that tackle local and global challenges through holistic understandings of context. Tamayouz released a longlist and shortlist for the International Graduation Projects Award in September

The winners and honourable mentions were selected by Tamayouz’s jury panel, which met in October 2019 at Coventry University in the UK. The judges this year were:

  • Professor Kanan Makyia, The Sylvia K. Hassenfeld professor at Brandeis University; Massachusetts, US
  • Ayad Al Tuhafi, Owner and director of Ayad Al Tuhafi Architects; London, UK
  • Sebastian Hicks, Course director of architecture at Coventry University; Coventry, UK
  • Jerome Goyard, Senior architect at Fevre Gaucher Architects + Urbanists; Paris, France
  • Ben Maltby, Global shelter and infrastructure lead at Save the Children USA; London, UK
  • Ben Flippance, Design director for IDP Group; Coventry,UK
  • Felipe Samaran Salo, Dean of the Architecture School at the Universidad Francisco de Vitoria; Madrid, Spain
  • Prisca Arosio, Urbanist and researcher; Amsterdam, The NetherlandsStefanos Adamakis, Partner at Adamakis Architects & Associates; Volos, Greece

More information about our judges can be found on our jury page here.

The Tamayouz International Supervisor of the Year Award
Tamayouz International Supervisor of the Year 2019 Award goes to Floris Alkemade, Rob Hootsmans and Peter Veenstra from the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture.

The Tamayouz International Architecture School of the Year Award
The Tamayouz Architecture School of 2019 goes to the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture, which is responsible for the first place winner.

Tamayouz Excellence Award is sponsored by Coventry University, the Iraqi Business Council in Jordan, Kufa – Makiya Charity, Dewan Architects + Engineers, Ayad Al-Tuhafi Architects, Bonair Ltd, the United Nations Global Compact – Iraq Network, IDP Coventry.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *