Tamayouz Excellence Award


Tamayouz Award is delighted to announce the shortlist (Top 20 entries) for the Rifat Chadirji Prize for architecture and its theme for 2018; Baghdad Design Centre.

The shortlisted entries were selected out of 310 entries submitted by firms, design studios, individuals and universities coming from 52 countries, Participants were asked to transform the current unused site of the Old Governorate Building into the Baghdad Design Centre while integrating the damaged facades in their ideas for the new building. The facades will be a memorial for an era in Baghdad’s history.

The site of the Old Baghdad Governorate Building in the heart of Baghdad's cultural district.

The shortlisted entries in Alphabetical order of their countries are:

  • France – Paris: Ali Habibianfar and Parisa Davoudi
  • France – Meilhan Sur Garonne: Luminary studio: Shama De Maisonneuve
  • Germany – Bonn: Mazen Alshash and Samer Said
  • Germany – Mannheim: Mostafa Mahdy
  • Greece – Volos: Adamakis Architects and Associates: Stefanos Adamakis, Konstantinos Adamakis, Elpinki Pavlou, Papakonstantinou Maria
  • Oman – Muscat: The Address: Ali Nashwan, Rafeeh Kassam, Momin Muhanad, Mustafa AlAbade
  • Poland – Częstochowa: Marcin Kitala and Zygmunt Maniaczyk
  • Russia -Tomsk: Xenia Klassen and Alina Krivosheina
  • UAE – Dubai: COdESIGN: Anna Cornaro and Valerio de Divitiis
  • UAE – Dubai: DMI: Islam El Mashtooly, Eslam Salem, Abdelrahman Magdy, Ahmed Salah
  • UK – London: DMA: Davide Maggio
  • UK – London: Brooks Murray Architects
  • UK – Liverpool: OSB: Iain Jackson
  • USA – San Francisco: Tay Othman Architecture and Design
  • USA – Houston: Mustafa Kamil
  • USA – New York: Matthew Scarlett
  • USA – New York: FREESPACE: Vardhan Mehta, Shaguni Gupta, Thomas Kuei and Sarah Ritchey
  • USA – New York: Su11: Hart Marlow, Ferda Kolatan, Emilija Landsbergis And Miguel Abaunza
  • USA – Seattle: HL Studio: Zhijian Chen and Hanyu Liu

The shortlisted entries will be reviewed by the Tamayouz judging panel on the 3rd of October and the winning entries will be announced end of October. The judging panel comprises of:

– Dr Rasem Badran – Amman: Aga Khan Award winner and Founder of Dar Al-Omran.
– Professor Wendy Pullan – Cambridge: A researcher and Senior Lecturer in the History and Philosophy of Architecture at the University of Cambridge.
– Professor Khaled Sultany – Copenhagen: An Iraqi Academic, Architectural Historian and a Critic, authored a number of books on modern architecture in Iraq and Civic Islamic Architecture in the Middle East and the Silk Road regions.
– Dr Hannah Vowles – Birmingham: Deputy Head of Architecture at Birmingham City University.
– Arch. Akram Ogaily – Dubai: An Iraqi Architect and Senior Vice President of Hill International.
– Eng. Ali Naji – Amman: An Iraqi Civil Engineering Consultant and Director of Star of the East for Housing and Development.

Tamayouz Excellence Award is sponsored by; The Iraqi Business Council in Jordan, Kufa – Makiya Charity, Coventry University, Dewan Architects and Engineers, the United Nations Global Compact, Ayad Al-Tuhafi Architects, Tradex Global Ltd.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.